Me Monday: Cars & Skateboards Do Not Mix.

Hello everyone.

It’s now Tuesday, but I like to live on the edge. Moving on.

Today’s tale takes place back when I was around… 21ish. Back in the lazy days of summer.

This is another story of dumb decisions.

I was hanging out with my friend Lindsay (you’ve met her before herehere, & here).

IMG_3173

And we were just hanging around her house, driving around, taking walks around the neighborhood, watching TV – the usual lazy stuff.

c4d7317494174bf49cfab66cc5dabaca-2

So after a bit of joyriding, Lindsay and I were heading back to her parents’ house to hang out some more.

Her parents house is at the top of a rather large hill. As we were driving up the hill, Lindsay’s brother, Brett, was skateboarding around with some friends at the bottom of the hill.

photo-2-1

I am about 90% certain that this was after I broke my elbow – and my arm was in a huge cast. And I was driving my (manual, stick-shift) car. So there’s that.

Some+dumb+girl+who+doesn+t+know+the+definition+of+a+_2abbbf9651b7056914c6b986e1c6ac64

All three of us (Lindsay, Brett & myself) were fairly free-spirited and liked to get in a good laugh. (And from what you’ve read about Lindsay and I before – we clearly never thought things through 100% of the time.)

Anyway. There Lindsay and I were in my Red 1997 Honda Civic.

1997_honda_civic_coupe_ex_fq_oem_1_500

(Mine looked a little different than this but you get the idea. Fun fact: my little brother still drives this car. 19 years and still going!)

We stopped to chat with Brett for a second before driving back up the hill to Lindsay’s house.

As we were pulling away, Brett says, “Hey, I don’t want to walk all the way up the hill. Let me just hang onto the back of your car and ride up on my skateboard.”

fb640fa1541ad3629ab7e42003ee0f5e

(Back to the Future style.)

Lindsay and I think, “Alright. Couldn’t hurt.”

200382774-001

I make sure to go extra slow because I am NOT trying to kill this kid. I’m only creeping up the hill at maybe 10-15 MPH. And everything is going fine. He’s hanging onto the back and gliding up the hill like a magnificent gazelle.

BUT THEN.

I look into my rearview mirror to check on him, and I see him TRYING TO COME AROUND THE SIDE OF THE CAR SO HE CAN RIDE NEXT TO THE DRIVER’S SIDE OPEN WINDOW. WHILE THE CAR IS MOVING.

254964C700000578-2937367-A_skateboarder_demonstrates_skitching_hanging_onto_a_car_to_to_h-a-3_1422940185127

I can literally see this accident about to happen. I’m watching it with my own two eyes. I try to slow down the car to a stop, but we are halfway up the hill and I don’t want to bump him off of the car and then he flies backwards into the abyss. Lindsay and I are like “WHAT ARE YOU DOING?!?!???”

image

5665894

Brett is on his skateboard, and as he’s trying to climb his way up around to the side of the car – his foot collides with the back tire.

AND THEN.

I feel the car go over a large lump and then a loud “OUCH! AHH!”.

I immediately stop the car and we jump out – Brett is on the ground and YES, PEOPLE, I HAVE RUN OVER THIS KIDS FOOT WITH MY CAR.

Lindsay and I are simultaneously screaming and laughing as we check on Brett. He was fine. Probably had a bruised foot but hey. As Lindsay’s dad always used to say:

“The stupid shall be punished.” – Lindsay’s dad.

I’ll never forget running into Lindsay’s house and yelling to her mom, “I JUST RAN OVER BRETT WITH MY CAR!!!” and the look on her face OMG. I felt like such a jerk hahahaha.

He totally would have made it up the hill completely unscathed had he just stayed put on at the back, too. So, as far as Lindsay and I are concerned – the fault this time lies 75% with Brett and 25% with us. Right?

Interestingly enough, this is only 1/3 out of the series where I hit things with my car. LOL.

Stay tuned!

xx Ashley

Leave a Reply

