10 Ways To Feel Better About That Post-Holiday Winter Schlump

The winter blues.

winter-depression

Anyone else suffer?

It’s cold & dark & wet & gross outside and the darkness arrives super early, at like 4:45 in the dang afternoon for goodness sakes. Since you can’t spend as much time outside, then the vitamin D deficiency arrives and along with that – the schlump.

That post-Holiday winter schlump.

It’s a real thing, ya’ll. Technically called S.A.D., or “Seasonal Affective Disorder”. But, “the schlumps” works just fine, too.

I tend to start feeling rather blah towards the start of the new year – sometimes it sneaks up on me extra early though. As the impending winter looms ahead of me I start to feel incredibly restless & bored, yet also lethargic.

So. In an effort to not let these feelings get me down this winter, I will be making a little list of things that can help you (and me) out with those blasted winter SADs.

1. EXERCISE, EXERCISE, EXERCISE. AND THEN EXERCISE SOME MORE.

66054178

Getting moving is the number ONE thing that I can do that will easily improve my mood and drive. Whether it’s on the treadmill in my basement or going to an actual gym or even just doing a fitness routine online in the living room – SOMETHING can always be done. Exercise boosts your endorphins + makes you feel (AND LOOK) much better. Summer bodies are made in the winter, everyone! Getting on that treadmill and getting my heart rate up with some fast-paced music blasting on the headphones is a sure-fire way to boost up my mental state.

2. DON’T EAT HORRIBLY PROCESSED CARB-FILLED GROSS FOODS.

73f3c4becea9c908c6eb9e5674561bc5

I have to remind myself of this on the REGULAR. For goodness sakes Ashley, EAT SOME VEGETABLES. PUT DOWN THE DOVE CHOCOLATE AND EAT AN APPLE. Eating clean, fresh foods will make your body feel 100x better. I promise. I am in the process of cleaning out my pantry and fridge of all the excess holiday junk right now in preparation.

3. DRINK UP. WATER. WATER. WATER.

102676fb514d1c36ee595f35ccd43be9070b8fa38029d41afd3ef79e6fde0fe1

This goes along with above. Drinking enough water for your body is essential! It keeps you from snacking on junky foods + regulates everything in your body + keeps bloat at bay + a billion other reasons. Cardinal rule: whatever your body weight is, cut that number in half and whatever that number is, is how many OUNCES of water you should be drinking per day. 

4. GET A HOBBY!

54572350

Yep. Tackle something that you’ve been wanting to try or do!

Needing to clean out that storage closet? Do it!

Been putting off making all those doctor/dentist/whatever appointments? Call now.

Join that weird book club at the library!

Join that exercise group at the gym!

Been wanting to learn how to knit? Cross stitch? Now’s the time! Michael’s is right down the street!

Have a pile of books you’ve been meaning to read? Hello. It’s time.

Switch things up and get a new haircut – and then work on a new look/style! Make-up, hair, whatever!

Want to write a book or something? Sure, why not?!

Whatever it is – do it. Keeping your mind busy and active is a great way to fight off anxiety/restlessness/boredom.

5. LIGHT SOME SUMMERY SMELLING CANDLES.

FragFamily_LuauParty

It may sound dumb, but it works for me. Maybe it’s snowing or raining or just 30 degrees outside – but if I’m burning a “Luau Party” Yankee Candle… It makes me feel better about the coldness outside.

Along with this…

6. CLEAN AND ORGANIZE YOUR SPACE.

1e13a12673d45795fdeb8b7093caac4e21c9d5b9c8db69c2e88bbce03ddabcfe

Whatever your space may be. A house, an apartment, a room. Get it cleaned up and organized. Throw out all the excess trash and junk that you don’t need or use and with those fruity candles lit – you’ll feel great. There’s nothing like relaxing in a clean & organized environment, in my opinion. Ideally, I like my house to look like no one actually lives there. I am straight up allergic to clutter. I LOVE CLEAN SURFACES. I don’t want A SINGLE THING ON MY COUNTER TOPS OR TABLES. If it’s in my way – I throw it out, or stick it back where it belongs. Drives Joe crazy but it keeps me sane.

Joe showed me this video a while back because he swears that this is me to a T on a regular basis. Not even just when we are expecting company.

I had to laugh hysterically because he is so RIGHT. Not even embarrassed about it.

7. PLAN A VACAY.

11205616_10104256765320652_2325701549990563561_n

Even if it’s just somewhere local! Thinking about taking a trip somewhere can seriously boost your mood. It could be winter outside but if I’m thinking about and planning that beach week in June – this pleases me.

8. PLAN A SMALL OUTING, EVEN!

exploring-calvin--26-hobbes-318460_1021_768

Even planning something small with friends that get you out of the house is a great idea! Meet some friends for coffee! Try out a new restaurant – maybe even a super nice one where you get to get all dressed up and fancy. Plan a trip to visit some museums. Plan a weekend at a hotel in another nearby city that you haven’t been to and explore! Hey – take a freezing walk outside, even – that’s fun too!

9. FILL YOUR SPACE WITH FRESH FLOWERS!

tumblr_m4wc1qQ9C41r3cxqqo1_1280

Hey – if you can’t have spring outside, bring it to the inside! Fill your living space with fresh-smelling, bright and colorful buds that make your home feel like a spring oasis.

10. BLAST THAT SUMMER PLAYLIST.

parks-and-rec-leslie-and-ann-dance-2

Pump the beats. No, really.

tumblr_lphdp1xg4l1qdz4ua

Whatever it is that you like, blow it out. T-Swift, T-Pain, Barry Manilow – I don’t know your life.

ron-dancing-animated

 Guaranteed to get you up and in a good mood.

So! These are a few things that I’m personally going to be keeping in mind this winter as some ways to keep out of the winter schlump-grumps.

Anyone have any other ideas? Open to them all! 🙂

xx Ashley

One thought on “10 Ways To Feel Better About That Post-Holiday Winter Schlump

  1. Great suggestions 🙂 Exercise is definitely something that lifts my mood and makes me feel more positive in general. Music is also crucial for keeping the mind upbeat. Good luck during the schlump!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

