5 Favorites

Hello, everyone! Sorry for the crickets lately. Been feeling a tad under the weather and was resting up.

So! Let’s get back into it with another round of 5 Favorites!

 

  • Flannel & Plaid

It’s no secret that I LOVE plaid & flannel. Love love love love. It’s so cozy for fall & winter and I also just love the look. And also sometimes when you wear flannel it feels like you’re wearing pajamas. So boom. That’s another win.

(American Eagle Outfitters)

You can make it look casual by dressing it down with skinnies & boots/sneakers, or you can dress it up with skinnies & heels (Or dare I say, CLOGS?!).

Or even tucking some flannel into a high waisted skirt! What! Yes! I said it!

(Pinterest)

  • Little Women (1994)

MV5BMjE0MzkwMDczNV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzU1ODYxMQ@@._V1_SX640_SY720_

I LOVE this movie. I’ve loved it since I was a child. I used to watch it allllll the time.  Yes, the book is better. I actually collect old copies of Little Women just because I love the story that much. There’s nothing better than the smell of a really old book. But. This film version is my favorite by far. Don’t get me wrong, I also love the 1933 version with Katharine Hepburn – but the 1994 version has ALWAYS been one of my favorite films. It just makes me feel good things, ya know? And it’s on Amazon Prime streaming! Say what! If you haven’t seen it, please do so. You’ll thank me later.

jo_laurie

(Jo & Laurie 4eva. Down with Amy!)

Which leads me to this…

il_570xN.691582535_jys3il_570xN.691582595_bq9s

For every book snob out there. This is for you. And me.

2266018

I hadn’t even ever heard of dry conditioner before Kate from The Small Things Blog wrote about reviving day 2 hair the other day. Dry shampoo, of course. It’s a lifesaver. My ends do tend to get a bit dry and scraggly after a while and when Kate recommended the Pureology Dry Conditioner I was intrigued. I picked some up from Ulta and WOAH, obsessed already. First of all, it smells AHHMAZING. Second, It really does work quite nicely. I just sprayed my ends and only to about halfway up the strands making sure to stay away from the top of my head and the roots. Almost instantly you could tell a huge difference in the dryness on my ends. This one is a winner, folks.

  • Christmas Parades!

So this last Saturday we were able to get out of the house and make it out to a local Christmas Parade in a Downtown area near us.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-10496-1384809787-4

It’s an annual Parade that goes on and while I grew up in the area, I had actually never been before this weekend. Joe and I thought that S would really enjoy it and boy were we right! All the local school bands played + there were about 10 Peanuts floats + Santa in a fire truck + 6 Grinch floats. Which S loved. Because she is absolutely OBSESSED with the Grinch at the moment. The cartoon film, the live person film AND the book. When she saw the first Grinch float with a Grinch that actually looked like the Grinch, she FLIPPED OUT. Like, Taylor Hanson level flipped out.

“THE GRINCH!!!!! AHHHH!!!!! I LOVE THE GRINCH!!!! THAT’S MY FAVORITE!!!! THE GRINCH!!!! AHHHH!!!!!!!!!!”

She takes after her mother, what can I say?

It was the best thing ever, though. Totally worth sitting out in the cold for 3+ hours claiming our spot on the sidewalk.

Only got one picture because we were too busy actually being in the moment and enjoying the experience, rather than perpetually having a cell phone in the way trying to document the evening solely to post on this blog. Because that’s just silly.

IMG_3128

…aaaaaand I’ve got lipstick on my tooth. But alas, sometimes these things must be documented anyway.

It was a good start to the Holidays & it felt lovely to stir up some good old-fashioned Christmas cheer.

Christmas-Printable-Quote-from-the-Grinch

xx Ashley

Leave a Reply

