5 Favorites

Or, a “How to give the best Christmas gifts to your most quirkiest/funniest/most glorious friends”.

c426b2b59c9077239ed65ab6d13d230c

Shia LaBeouf Christmas Sweater (Viralstyle.com)

2f7ab517-cb6f-3694-ad34-a3323d824325_2233984_front

I mean. Come on. Look at this perfection.

I need it desperately.

It’s actually not even a sweater – just a long-sleeved t-shirt. But. Look. at. it.

Where would you actually wear this, you ask?

Literally anywhere, I say.

“Hey Sorry I’m Late” Sweatshirt (Amazon)

61fSY78SnIL._UX466_

hahahahaha. I saw this and was like, “YESSSSS… MEEEEE”. Anyone who knows me knows that I am a huge homebody and this disease is just getting worse and worse as I get older. This sweatshirt is my life motto. Except the lateness aspect. I rarely am ever late – tardiness drives me insane. I feel that it is pretty much the epitome of rudeness. Yes, it happens sometimes and can be out of your control. BUT for the most part, if you agree to be somewhere at a certain time, budget your time accordingly in order to get there when you said you would! Like, if I am sitting there waiting for you and it has been 15 minutes or more past when you said you would be there – I WILL LEAVE. Straight up. If you don’t have respect for my time, then BYE! LOL.

Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh (Amazon)

51wAAzcD2uL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

This book is sooooooo funny. Brosh started out with her blog, hyperbole and a half, where she tells funny stories from her life and draws illustrations to go along with them. This book is a culmination of stories from her blog and brought me many many laughs. Recommend as a funny gift for someone looking for a lighter & quick read.

I recommend starting off with “God of Cake”, first. 😉

Kate Spade New York Glitter Studs (Nordstrom)

How gorgeous are these earrings?! They make quite a statement for a night out but also can be made casual with a hoodie and jeans. I have three pairs – silver, pink & turquoise. They are always in and out of stock but right now they are on sale for only $26.60! Some colors are on backorder but Nordstrom is pretty good about fulfilling orders. These would be great as Christmas gifts for any of your friends/sisters/daughters, etc. The opal ones are gorgeous!!

Jesus > Religion by Jefferson Bethke (Amazon)

&

It’s Not What You Think by Jefferson Bethke (Amazon)

I first heard of Jefferson Bethke when some of his spoken word videos went viral a few years back. They are incredibly moving and entertaining –  yet really make you think about important things, like organized religion in our society and what Jesus Himself thinks about the religious structure of our time.

Bethke does a fantastic job at being relatable and reaches out to a younger “YOLO” generation who lives solely for the moment. He has many many more videos on various Biblical topics and how to relate the Bible to current issues that people face these days. So when I saw that Bethke had also written two books, I decided to order them and put them at the top of my reading list. The thing I love about Bethke is that he takes something as complex as religion and makes it simple. It’s about Jesus. It’s about a real relationship with a Savior who loves you and wants to be the focus of your life. It’s not about how you look on the outside and how many times you attend church or volunteer or go on missions trips etc etc etc. It’s how you live your life spiritually. I really recommend watching some of his stuff on youtube + picking up his books. They aren’t boring books – I promise! Really can change the way you see life.

Bethke posted this quote on his Facebook page a few months back and it struck such a cord with me at the time that I saved it on my desktop:

“There’s grace for you in every moment. Jesus isn’t exhausted by you. He doesn’t get tired. He delights in lavishing it on you.”

Isn’t that just what you need to hear sometimes when you’re having a bad day or things just aren’t going right?

xx Ashley

Leave a Reply

