Review: First Stitchfix

So I’ve seen Stitchfix around the internets for a while now but have never bit the bullet on actually trying it out. Until now. You’re welcome.

For those of you who don’t know what Stitchfix is, here is some info about it from the website:

For busy women on the go, Stitch Fix is the personal styling service tailored to your taste, budget and lifestyle that helps you look and feel your best every day. Stitch Fix is the first fashion retailer to blend expert styling, proprietary technology and unique product to deliver a shopping experience that is truly personalized for you. Simply fill out the Stitch Fix Style Profile and our personal stylists will handpick a selection of five clothing items and accessories unique to your taste, budget and lifestyle. You can buy what you like and return the rest! We’ll send you a selection of five clothing items and accessories handpicked by personal stylists on the date you choose. At the time your stylist selects your items, you will be charged a $20 styling fee. That $20 will be applied as a credit toward anything you keep from your shipment.

So basically, you fill out a “style profile” about things you like and things you don’t like and a Stitchfix stylist will pick out five items for you and then you get to try them on at home. Keep what you like and return the rest. The $20 upfront styling fee will go toward whatever you keep, if you decide not to keep any of it and send it all back, you’re out that $20 but hey I guess you have the experience right?

I am extremely picky about my clothing & accessories. I usually don’t even like anyone buying me anything in that area without my direct input because I know what I like – and I REALLY know what I DON’T like. I can tell what’s going to look good on me and what won’t and I feel like I have a pretty good eye. So I figured this experience may be a long shot at actually finding anything I actually like, but I was intrigued enough about the whole idea to try it out at least once.

Which leads me to my first fix.

First of all, when you sign up to have a fix sent to you, you fill out a fairly extensive style profile about styles that you like and don’t like. They give you layouts of clothing styles and you can put “love it”, “hate it”, etc. You can also give them the link to your Pinterest boards so that they can see the outfits that you post on your style boards, and from that they can get an even better idea of what you like and how you dress. I understand that sometimes people are looking to branch out a bit in terms of personal style and perhaps want to get something new from this experience, so maybe it’s just me – but I felt like my input about how I dress and my likes and dislikes were almost completely disregarded. It was almost like they didn’t pay attention to my profile at all, except for one item.

I made sure to put down that I was currently a stay-at-home mom; my style is mostly preppy and casual but still room for some flowy pieces. I’m not into… clubwear? As in, silky/bedazzled/sheer shapeless tops. I legitimately have NO WHERE TO WEAR THIS STUFF. I prefer classic, minimalistic styles. I actually made sure to put that I prefer my tops to be more form fitting and structured.

So when I saw what was in my box… um.

baac21858e2685dda175cbb6a9eba0ff

Let me just show you.

[Disclaimer: I had just woken up in these pictures and therefore am makeup free. Proceed at your own risk.]

Item #1: Pixley Mim Embellished Neckline Blouse ($58):

IMG_2963IMG_2964IMG_2955

I pulled this out of the box and was immediately like, “NOOOOOOOOOOOO”…

Also, the static cling was INSANE. You can tell it’s sticking to my stomach with the suction of a thousand vacuums.

Strikes against:

  1. The “Embellished Neckline” is tacky and I hate it.
  2. It was sheer.
  3. It was that weird silky but not silky rayon/polyester cheap fabric.
  4. It had that weird triangle tail on the back.
  5. Way too boxy and short.

Things I liked:

  1. The color was nice.

Yeah that’s it. If there was ever a top that was so NOT me, this would be it, folks.

youre-tacky-and-i-hate-you

Item #2: Romolo Tisha Chain Tassel Earrings ($28):

IMG_2956

Strikes against:

  1. The yellow gold is not very appealing. 
  2. They look (and felt) fairly cheap. Like something from Claire’s.
  3. They straight-up look like nipple tassels. NOOOOOO.

Things I liked:

Absolutely nothing.

Item #3: Fate Orianna Halter Blouse ($54):

IMG_2970IMG_2971IMG_2966IMG_2965IMG_2967

Okay, so this blouse wasn’t actually so bad. I really liked the neckline (mostly flattering) and obviously can’t go wrong with a black tank top. Static cling was attacking me again, though. The gold bar was interesting; I didn’t hate it. It was just plastic, though.

Things I liked:

  1. Black = always a winner.
  2. Neckline was flattering and pretty.
  3. Hemline was curved and was at a flattering length.
  4. Would be really cute for summer.

Strikes against:

  1. Material felt pretty cheap.
  2. It had loose threads hanging all over.

So I may have thought about keeping this top and saving it for summer, but like I said – the material felt really cheap. It felt like maybe a $25-$35 value top, but it was listed at $54. Not worth it.

Item #4: Liverpool Anita Skinny Pant ($78):

IMG_2969

I wouldn’t even categorize these as “pants”, per say. They were more like thick leggings with pockets. They weren’t very flattering and were kind of baggy on me. The grey color was bland and eh. Not into them. Especially not at $78! Ha!

And if I needed a further sign about them, then THIS HAPPENED:

IMG_2968

I spied a LADYBUG/HELL MONSTER, crawling next to them!

give-leo-an-oscar

Item #5: Blank NYC Bremer Faux Leather Moto Jacket ($158):

IMG_2961IMG_2962IMG_2960IMG_2958

Alright so a cute moto jacket is definitely more my style and I mentioned in my style profile that I was looking for one. I really liked the detailing on this jacket and it was mostly what I was looking for.

Things I liked:

  1. Quilting/detailing.
  2. It was comfortable and seemed to be fairly warm.
  3. Length wasn’t too short. Could have been longer, though.
  4. The style of the jacket itself I liked as well.

Strikes against:

  1. Like I said, could have been a tad longer.
  2. The fact that it was faux leather.
  3. Price.

I have nothing against faux leather jackets; I actually already have a thin faux leather jacket that I love. The thing was, I was specifically looking for a real leather jacket. This jacket was listed at $158 – to me, that’s way too much for a faux leather jacket. I can go on Ebay or to Nordstrom Rack and find a real leather jacket for just as much or a little more. As soon as I saw the price tag I was like, “Nope. Bye Felicia”.

So yes. I ended up sending everything back. Another thing I thought was strange was that they sent me only tank-tops. In November. Maybe I’m just being too picky… but… I’m not quite sure I would try Stitchfix again, honestly. After experiencing it I feel like I know best about what I like and that I could have gone to Starbucks 3.5 times with that $20, ya know?

IMG_2976

Weekend casual 4eva.

xx Ashley

2 thoughts on “Review: First Stitchfix

  1. Ive seen reviews on stitch fix on yt, but always thought it wasn’t worth it. Super expensive for the quality of clothes. I give you kudos for trying it out! Have a happy thanksgiving babe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

