What I’m Loving: Erin Condren Life Planner

IMG_2524

So today I am sharing a special item that I absolutely love – my Erin Condren Life Planner!

680

I am a huge planner. I do not like to be surprised or to have things go unplanned – unless it is during planned free time, naturally. 😉

When I was still in school and having to plan around several different classes and projects + just everyday life as a Military spouse & mom, my planner was a lifesaver. I kept everything that I needed to know & remember in it – a planner just helps me to keep it together and sane, really. I do use the planning features on my iPhone (obviously), but I find that an actual paper planner that I can write things down in + keep important paperwork, coupons & receipts, etc in works best for me.

I first discovered Erin Condren’s Life Planners back in 2012. The basic planners at any regular store just weren’t cutting it anymore – I could never find one that had everything I wanted & none of them could be customized to what I needed without them being in a huge binder with all kinds of additional junk that, frankly, I just didn’t want to deal with. So, when I found Erin Condren and saw how customizable the planners were – boom! Hooked!

You get to choose the cover/back pattern and can have your name and/or a quote, the year – anything you want really on the cover. The cover & back is thickly laminated and the entire book is held together using a large coil. There is a folder with pockets in the back of the planner and also a clear zip-lock pouch for storing whatever.

IMG_2528

When I first purchased my planner, the hardest thing was choosing my cover layout, honestly! They had several to choose from. Now, they have detachable covers & backs so you can switch them up! Which is awesome, because – say you don’t like the cover you choose once it comes? Guess what! You aren’t stuck with it. Just pick a different cover and you can switch them out. One cover for spring & summer; one for fall/Halloween; and another for Christmas and the end of the year. I personally do not have the calendar year printed on my covers. Why? Because if you have the year printed on the cover, you can’t reuse them. Since they are all interchangeable now – you can continue to use them with new planners every year – rather than having to purchase the same cover in the same print you already love, just because it has “2015” printed on it and it’s now 2016.

IMG_2529

Before this year, EC Planners only had vertical layouts – with “Morning/Afternoon/Night” columns. Now, you can choose to continue with the vertical layout – or change it up with the horizontal layout. I decided to get fancy for next year and go with the new horizontal layout. Rebel! Look at me go! I’m interested to see how I like the horizontal layout compared to the vertical that I have been using for the past 4 years. We shall see!

IMG_2520 IMG_2527

After I graduated I was afraid a planner wouldn’t get much use – but I found that I still use it just as much as before. I keep track of fitness goals, appointments, blog posts, etc. It works out. EC is on the more expensive side for a planner – but honestly if you actually use it often, they are worth it.

For 2016 I went with the gold coil and the “Peony Pink” with gold metallic triangles. I prefer a clean, simple look. Pretty but still modern. Nailed it.

IMG_2525

So pink. So sparkly. Can’t wait to write in my doctor appointments.

Organization for the win!

(P.S. You can use this link for $10 off your first Erin Condren purchase! 😉 )

Leave a Reply

